“The individual right of the people to keep and bear arms for security and defense of self, family, others, property, or the state, as well as for other lawful purposes shall not be infringed; but nothing herein shall prevent the Legislature from defining the lawful use of arms.”
AT A GLANCE
Utah is a shall-issue state. There is no permit, background check or registration required when buying from a private individual. Open carry is legal with a concealed carry permit at 18. Concealed carry is legal with Concealed Firearm Permits (CFP) at 21. Utah will honor all other state or county permits. Utah is a Castle Doctrine state and has a “stand your ground” law. There is no duty to retreat. The person using deadly force in defense is presumed for the purpose of both civil and criminal cases to have acted reasonably.
By statute, Utah will recognize another state’s license to carry.
“The provisions of Subsections 76-10-504 (1) and (2), and Section 76-10-505 do not apply to any person to whom a permit to carry a concealed firearm has been issued: … (b) by another state or county.”
Duty To Notify Police Officer
Although there is no legal requirement to disclose to a LEO that You are carrying a firearm, it is recommended to do so. If a LEO sees a gun on Your person during their contact with You, and You have not identified Yourself as a permit holder in legal possession of a firearm, the officer may assume You are carrying illegally and may take defensive action.
Carrying Firearms In Vehicles
Utah generally prohibits carrying concealed firearms in vehicles without a permit. It is illegal to possess a loaded long gun in a vehicle. You may only carry a handgun without a permit if: (1) You are legally in possession of the vehicle; (2) have the consent of the owner; (3) are over 18 years old; and (4) the firearm is unloaded; securely encased (not including glove box or console box) and is not readily accessible for immediate use.
Utah permits ownership of all NFA items, provided they are legally obtained pursuant to federal law. It is legal to use suppressors for hunting. CLEOs are required to sign an application for the transfer of any item regulated under the NFA within 15 days if the applicant is not prohibited by law from receiving it.
Utah has both Castle Doctrine and SYG laws. There is no duty to retreat from anywhere You have a legal right to be. You may use force, including deadly force, in defense of yourself or others if You reasonably believe it is necessary to prevent imminent death, SBI, the commission of a forcible felony, or to stop the unlawful & forcible entry into Your dwelling, if You reasonably believe the intruder intended to harm an occupant of the dwelling or commit a felony inside it.
Carry In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol
If You possess a license/permit, You are allowed to carry into all establishments that serve alcohol. You are allowed to consume alcohol while You carry, but it is illegal to carry while intoxicated (blood alcohol level over .08%)
Do “No Gun Signs” Have The Force Of Law?
“No Guns” signs have the force of law if they are posted at a house of worship or private residence. Firearms are also prohibited where the owner or responsible person has verbally communicated that firearms are not permitted. Failure to leave or disarm constitutes trespass.
Open carry of a loaded firearm is legal for those with a valid permit/license. Open carry of a firearm without a permit is allowed as long as the gun is at least two actions from being fired, i.e., no bullet in the chamber.
DISCLAIMER: The Gun Laws by State Guide (GLBSG) was created to provide its readers with a general educational resource tool to explore the pertinent gun laws in Your jurisdiction.
However, the GLBSG was not researched and/or written by attorneys as a specific legal guide to rely upon. Instead, it is a starting point for your own research. In addition, all laws are always subject to reasonable, but different, legal interpretation as to meaning and application.
As such, the GLBSG is not intended to supplant, nor limit, Your need for independent verification of any and all material contained herein and consultation with competent counsel of choice regarding any specific issues.
This type of specific legal analysis is necessarily beyond the general educational objective of the GLBSG and for which a bar-admitted attorney in the particular state(s) is needed and required. The content of this GLBSG is a general restatement of the law.
Nothing on this website, or any other content by Our Second Right, is a promise or guarantee of results and we do not offer any legal, or other professional advice. Use caution and always consult your legal professional before acting on any information related to Your state’s gun laws. You alone are responsible and accountable for your decisions, actions and results in life, and by consuming any content by Our Second Right you agree not to attempt to hold us liable for your decisions, actions or results, at any time, under any circumstance.