“The people have the right to keep and bear arms, which right shall not be abridged; but this provision shall not prevent the passage of laws to govern the carrying of weapons concealed on the person nor prevent passage of legislation providing minimum sentences for crimes committed while in possession of a firearm, nor prevent the passage of legislation providing penalties for the possession of firearms by a convicted felon, nor prevent the passage of any legislation punishing the use of a firearm. No law shall impose licensure, registration or special taxation on the ownership or possession of firearms or ammunition. Nor shall any law permit the confiscation of firearms, except those actually used in the commission of a felony.”
AT A GLANCE
Idaho is a shall-issue state. CWLs are issued by county sheriffs. No permit is needed to purchase from a private individual, no background check, waiting period, or firearms registration. Open carry is legal at 18 years old. Citizens over 18 who can legally possess a firearm can carry a concealed without a permit. A CWL covers concealed weapons including any knife, pistol, or other deadly weapon. Idaho issues CWLs to residents and non-residents. Concealed carry permits require a firearms training course or experience with a firearm through an organized shooting competition or military service. Idaho is a Castle Doctrine and a “stand your ground” state. A person is released from liability from self defense.
Idaho will recognize another state’s license to carry if the licensee has it in his or her physical possession.
Duty To Notify Police Officer
Idaho does not require individuals to inform a LEO of a permit or license to carry but if an Officer asks about a weapon, by law, an answer must be supplied. You must have a valid identification at all times in which You are in actual possession of a concealed weapon or firearm and must display proper identification upon demand by a LEO.
Carrying Firearms In Vehicles
Idaho allows anyone who is legally allowed to possess firearms to carry them openly in a motor vehicle without a permit. Someone without a permit may carry a long gun, but handguns may not be carried concealed within city limits unless they are either disassembled or unloaded and secured in a locked container.
Idaho permits Idaho residents who are at least 21 years old and not legally prohibited from owning firearms to carry a handgun without a permit, openly or concealed. Note that it was already legal for Idaho residents who are at least 18 years old and not legally prohibited from owning firearms to open carry a handgun, or to carry a concealed handgun as long as You are outside of city limits. The new law allows permitless concealed carry within city limits by Idaho residents who are at least 21, which had previously required a permit.
Idaho permits ownership of all NFA items, provided they are legally obtained pursuant to federal law. Hunting with suppressors is legal.
Idaho has both Castle Doctrine and SYG laws. There is no duty to retreat when attacked in any place You have a legal right to be, and You may use deadly force in self-defense if You reasonably believe it is imminently necessary to prevent death or SBI, the commission of a forcible felony, or to stop the unlawful & forcible entry into Your dwelling, residence, or occupied motor vehicle.
Carry In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol
You are allowed to carry into any establishment that serves alcohol, including bars. You are prohibited from carrying while you consume alcohol or are under the influence of alcohol.
Do “No Gun Signs” Have The Force Of Law?
“No Firearm” signs in Idaho do not have the force of law unless they are posted on property that is specifically mentioned in state law as being off limits to those with a permit/license to carry. However, as a possessor with a real property interest, a retailer, has the right to limit, and qualify the right to enter the property, subject to not carrying a handgun. It would be improper to enter, and the licensee would be subject to ejection for possession of a handgun thereat. Failure to leave once requested would subject the licensee to arrest for criminal trespass.
Open carry is legal in Idaho. Places listed in the “Criminal Provisions” above apply to those who open carry. You may carry openly without a permit in a vehicle or on foot.
DISCLAIMER: The Gun Laws by State Guide (GLBSG) was created to provide its readers with a general educational resource tool to explore the pertinent gun laws in Your jurisdiction.
However, the GLBSG was not researched and/or written by attorneys as a specific legal guide to rely upon. Instead, it is a starting point for your own research. In addition, all laws are always subject to reasonable, but different, legal interpretation as to meaning and application.
As such, the GLBSG is not intended to supplant, nor limit, Your need for independent verification of any and all material contained herein and consultation with competent counsel of choice regarding any specific issues.
This type of specific legal analysis is necessarily beyond the general educational objective of the GLBSG and for which a bar-admitted attorney in the particular state(s) is needed and required. The content of this GLBSG is a general restatement of the law.
Nothing on this website, or any other content by Our Second Right, is a promise or guarantee of results and we do not offer any legal, or other professional advice. Use caution and always consult your legal professional before acting on any information related to Your state’s gun laws. You alone are responsible and accountable for your decisions, actions and results in life, and by consuming any content by Our Second Right you agree not to attempt to hold us liable for your decisions, actions or results, at any time, under any circumstance.